standards and codes

PHTA-4 Standard for Aboveground/Onground Residential Swimming Pools - Draft in Development

This standard describes certain criteria for the design, manufacturing, testing, care, and use of aboveground/onground residential (Type-O) non-diving swimming pools and their components. Aboveground/onground residential (Type-O) non-diving swimming pools are defined as pools with a shallow area water depth of 36 in. (914 mm) minimum at the wall and a water depth of 48 in. (1,219 mm) maximum at the wall. This includes portable pools with flexible/non-rigid or rigid side walls which achieve their structural integrity by means of uniform shape, support frame, or a combination thereof, and can be disassembled for storage or relocation.

Stakeholders: Manufacturers and producers of aboveground/onground residential swimming pools, as well as consumers who use this type of pool.

Revision in Process: PHTA-4 Standard for Aboveground/Onground Residential Swimming Pools

Current Version: ANSI/APSP/ICC-4 2012 (R2022) American National Standard for Aboveground/Onground Residential Swimming Pools



Interested in attending PHTA-4 Standard Writing Committee meetings? Complete this form and you will be emailed the meeting link. You only need to submit the guest form once per year per standard.

Interested in receiving updates on PHTA-4? Sign up here.


Pool & Hot Tub Alliance Strategic Partners:

  • Biolab
  • Fluidra
  • Hayward
  • Heritage Pool Supply Group
  • Lou
  • Lyon Financial
  • Pentair
  • WatkinsWellness
This website uses cookies, including from third parties, to improve your user experience and for website analysis and statistics. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website.