Builder of the Year

The Builder of the Year Award is a peer-nominated award given annually to one PHTA builder member who has advanced the pool building profession through outstanding achievements and dedication to the industry.

Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Nominee is committed to being a positive role model for the profession and peers.
  • Nominee must have proven track record of meeting or exceeding industry standards in designing and building pools and spas.
  • Nominee has been employed in the pool, hot tub, or spa industry for at least five years.
  • Nominee actively participates with PHTA at a local or national level.
  • Nominee is a current employee of a PHTA member company in good standing.

2024 Nomination Deadline: June 30
Winners will be recognized at PSP/Deck Expo in Dallas, TX, this November.

Click here to complete the online nomination form.


Past Winners:

  • 2023: Edward Gibbs, Gib-San Pool & Landscape Creations
  • 2022: Kyle Chaikin, CBP, CSP, CPO, Chaikin Ultimate Pools
  • 2021: Joseph Vassallo, Jr., CBP, Paragon Pools
  • 2020: Robert Baron, Baron Pools (Posthumous) and Larry Biscornet, LBI Pools (Posthumous)
  • 2018: Stephen Neville, CBP, CSP, PPSO, Island Construction Corporation
  • 2017: Guy Larsen, CBP, Mid America Pool & Spa Show
  • 2016: Jason Schallock, CBP, Anderson Pool Works
  • 2015: John Migliaccio, CBP, The Pool & Spa Place, and Bill Shehan, CBP, Shehan Pools
  • 2014: Robert Blanda, CBP, CSP, Mill Bergen Pool Center
  • 2013: Dick Dal Pino, CBP, Dal Pino Quality Pools, Inc. and Dan Johnson, CBP, Swim Incorporated
  • 2012: Joseph M. Vassallo, CBP, Paragon Pools
  • 2011: Jeff Mitchell, CBP, Dynasty Pools
  • 2010: Tommy Johnson, CBP, CSP, Johnson Pools and Spas
  • 2009: Lew Akins, CBP, Ocean Quest Pools by Lew Akins
  • 2008: John C. Romano, CBP, CSP, All American Custom Pools & Spas
  • 2007: Al Rizzo, CBP, CSP, Rizzo Pool & Spa


Pool & Hot Tub Alliance Strategic Partners:

  • Biolab
  • Fluidra
  • Hayward
  • Heritage Pool Supply Group
  • Lou
  • Lyon Financial
  • Pentair
  • WatkinsWellness
This website uses cookies, including from third parties, to improve your user experience and for website analysis and statistics. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website.